Arto Hiltunen joins Itella’s Board of Directors as a new member


Itella Corporation's Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held in Helsinki on March 24, 2010. The AGM adopted the financial statements for 2009, discharged the members of the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors and the President and CEO, and confirmed that no dividend shall be paid for the 2009 profit.

Board of Directors

Itella's Board of Directors consists of nine (9) members. Arto Hiltunen, M.Sc. (Econ.), was elected as a new member and Vice Chairman of Itella's Board of Directors. Eero Kasanen, Executive Dean, was re-elected as Board Chairman. The AGM also re-elected the following Board members: Kalevi Alestalo, Financial Counselor; Hele-Hannele Aminoff, MBA; Erkki Helaniemi, Partner; Päivi Pesola, Vice President; Riitta Savonlahti, Executive Vice President; Maarit Toivanen-Koivisto, General Manager; and, as employee representative, Antero Palmolahti, National Chief Shop Steward.

Supervisory Board

Itella's Supervisory Board consists of 12 members. Paavo Arhinmäki (Left Alliance) and Johanna Karimäki (Green Party) were elected as new members. Eero Lehti, MP (National Coalition Party), was re-elected as Supervisory Board Chairman and Antti Rantakangas, MP (Centre Party) as Vice Chairman. The following Supervisory Board members were re-elected: Susanna Huovinen, MP (Social Democratic Party); Harri Jaskari, MP (National Coalition Party); Bjarne Kallis, MP (Christian Democrats); Lauri Kähkönen, MP (Social Democratic Party); Outi Mäkelä, MP (National Coalition Party); Reijo Ojennus, entrepreneur (True Finns); Pertti Salovaara, MP (Centre Party); and Harry Wallin, engine driver (Social Democratic Party).


KPMG Oy, a firm of authorized public accountants, was elected as Itella's auditor, with Pauli Salminen, Authorized Public Accountant, as the principal auditor.

The remuneration payable to members of the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Board remain unchanged (


For further information, please contact

Jukka Alho, President and CEO, tel. +358 20 451 5600
Pekka Leskinen, Board Secretary, tel. +358 20 451 5007